RSS

You know my wife laughed at me? I needed it!

30 Jun

Yesterday as I was driving to NYC to drop off my children with my sister-in-law. I was prepared to have a few hours to myself and go bike riding along the West Side when, I was caught in Jersey City’s end of the month capital fundraising campaign. The police were pulling over unsuspecting drivers for going over the 25 mph speed limit, and I was the lottery winner. As I was waiting for my ticket, a few things came to mind; my perfect driving record for the  past three years was ruined, how much is this ticket going to cost me, is there a way I can get out of it.

The latter was definitely out of the question, but what really set me off was the cost of the ticket. Jersey City must really be hurting for money because it was going to cost me more to pay this ticket than the SADE concert and the cost of a good seat at the Yankee game combined.

This episode really set my day off, and I was about to just go home and brood which I am prone to do when bad things happen to me. Before I decided to do that, I figured let me call PG, my wife first.

Immediately she asked me if I was ok. I told her no and the circumstances behind it. Her response! Laughter! She said, “That’s it! That’s what you are upset about. Please, don’t let this one ticket spoil your day. Go for that bike ride.”

During my periods of silence as she talked to me, I took in what she said. I went bike riding and enjoyed the day. Oddly enough in Jersey City.

It’s refreshing when your wife can be a good student, but a better teacher. That’s why I married her.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “You know my wife laughed at me? I needed it!

  1. Yolanda P

    June 30, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    LOL!!! Your wife was right why let that get to you.

     
    • strivetwosucceed

      June 30, 2011 at 8:33 pm

      Yolanda. I hate giving donations I have no control over..LOL

       
  2. herdetroit

    June 30, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I laugh at my husband ALL the time! Guess that makes me an excellent wife huh? My aunt says we’re definitely going to last because we are both so silly. Nice story.

     
    • strivetwosucceed

      June 30, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      It so definitely does. Any time you can laugh together or if you can reframe an issue that bothers him or vice versa can go s long way to strengthening the relationship. Thanks for sharing.

       

Leave a Reply

 
