RSS

How some Time away can vitalize your Marriage! (Marriage Music Monday)

06 Jun

This past weekend, I attended the Soul Hoyas Reunion event at  Georgetown University.  This annual event  is a way to bond with old friends to get caught up to date on our lives since  college, participate in community service and just plain let loose , flirt with old crushes and party.  After a very successful and enjoyable weekend, I found myself reflecting and  communicating to friends that couldn’t attend how much fun we had. You know what I also felt, I longed  to return home where I belonged, my wife and kids.

Around 7:00 Sunday morning after I watched ESPN, prayed and showered, I packed up my  belongings and journeyed home. When I was on the highway, I called  my wife to let her know I was driving back to New Jersey. I sensed she was  anticipating my return not by her words, but by the tone of the conversation. She was excited.

Her excitement is clearly expressed by today’s Marriage  Music Monday selection, “Get Here (if you Can)” by Oleta Adams.

You can reach me by railway

You can reach me by trailway

You can reach me by an airplane

You can reach me with you mind

You can reach me by caravan

Cross the desert like an Arab man

I don’t care how you get here

Get here if you can

There are hills and mountains between us

Always something to get over

If I had my way, surely you would be closer

I need you closer

Having separate time  and interests will help vitalize the marriage. It can be energizing to  participate in a hobby or an activity that is solely your own. It allows you do  have some private space plus it gives you something else to discuss with your  partner. Marriage entails a lot of togetherness, but just because you’re  married, you don’t need to be joined at the hip. So as an assignment if you don’t  have an activity that you have just for yourself, find one and have your spouse  find one, too.

Make sure each of you  has time away from the other with friends, family, or alone. Enjoy your  separate interests.

It can be the key to keeping your marriage fresh.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Marriage Monday Tips

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
